Share On

Second Deputy Chairman of The Executive Council

His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum - Second Deputy Chairman of The Executive Council

His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum assumed his position as Deputy Chairman of the Dubai Executive Council as per the decree issued by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, in his capacity as the Ruler of Dubai on 2nd March, 2003. Afterwards, His Highness was appointed as Second Deputy Chairman of the Dubai Executive Council as per a decree issued by His Highness the Ruler of Dubai on 14th August, 2008, while His Highness Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum was appointed as the First Deputy Chairman of the Executive Council.

In 1981, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum appointed His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed as President of the Department of Civil Aviation in Dubai, which was replaced by the Dubai Civil Aviation Authority and Dubai Aviation City Corporation. His Highness also assumes the position of Chairman of the Dubai Duty Free Foundation, as well as Chairman and Chief Executive of Emirates Airline & Group since its inception in 1985, which includes Dnata Travel and a number of companies related to the civil aviation sector.

In addition to that, His Highness holds the position of Chairman of the Department of Oil Affairs, as well as the Chairman of the Dubai Petroleum Establishment, Dubai World, Economic Development Committee and Dubai Supreme Fiscal Committee. He also assumes the position of Vice-Chairman of the Dubai World Trade Centre and is the Chairman of the Executive Committee Authority for Expo 2020.

His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed plays a vital role in promoting Dubai as a global hub for civil aviation, supporting the city’s trade and tourism role globally. He has received many international honours, including the fellowship of the British Royal Aeronautical Society in recognition of his achievements in this field, as well as the Commandeur de l’Ordre de la Legion d’Honneur (the Legion of Honour), the highest French civilian award and the Hamburg Verfassungsportugaleser, one of Germany’s highest honours. The world’s press nicknamed him the "Prince of Space" in recognition of his role in the aviation industry.

His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed was born on 1st December, 1958. He is the young brother of the late Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum. He grew up in his brother’s house in Al Shindagha, and his brother’s Majlis was the first school where he learned about life, economics and management. He first attended Al Ahmadiya School in 1963, then Al Shaeb School, then Dubai High School and finally the Faculty of Politics and Economics at the University of Denver, Colorado, USA, where he graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science and Economics.

مشاركة على

النائب الثاني لرئيس المجلس التنفيذي

سمو الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد آل مكتوم
النائب الثاني لرئيس المجلس التنفيذي

الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد آل مكتومتولى سمو الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد آل مكتوم منصبه نائباً لرئيس المجلس التنفيذي لإمارة دبي بمقتضى مرسوم أصدره صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم -بصفته حاكماً لإمارة دبي- في الثاني  من مارس من عام 2003، ثم  شغل سموه موقع النائب الثاني لرئيس المجلس التنفيذي للإمارة وفق مرسوم أصدره صاحب السمو الحاكم في الرابع عشر من أغسطس من عام 2008، حيث يتبوأ سمو الشيخ مكتوم بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم منصب النائب الأول لرئيس المجلس التنفيذي.

عُين سمو الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد من قبل صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم في العام 1981 رئيساً لدائرة الطيران المدني في دبي، التي حلت محلها هيئة دبي للطيران المدني ومؤسسة مدينة دبي للطيران، كما يرأس سموه مؤسسة سوق دبي الحرة، وهو الرئيس الأعلى والرئيس التنفيذي لطيران الإمارات والمجموعة التابعة لها منذ تأسيسها العام 1985، والتي تضم مؤسسة دناتا للسفريات العالمية  وعدداً من الشركات ذات الصلة بقطاع الطيران المدني.

ويرأس سموه أيضاً دائرة شؤون النفط، وكذلك مجلس إدارة  مؤسسة دبي للبترول ومؤسسة دبي العالمية ولجنة التنمية الاقتصادية في الإمارة واللجنة العليا للسياسة المالية، وشغل كذلك منصب نائب رئيس مركز دبي التجاري العالمي، إضافة لقيادته اللجنة العليا المكلفة بالإشراف على استضافة معرض إكسبو 2020 العالمي.

ولسمو الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد دورٌ مميزٌ في تعزيز مكانة دبي كمركز عالمي للطيران المدني، ودعم دورها التجاري والسياحي العالمي، وهو الحائز على عضوية الجمعية الملكية البريطانية للطيران تقديراً لإنجازاته في هذا المجال. كما حاز على أرفع وسام شرف في فرنسا على صعيد الطيران ووسام "فيرفا سانغ بورفوغاليسية"الرفيع من مدينة "هامبورغ" الألمانية، وأطلقت عليه الصحافة العالمية لقب "أمير الفضاء" تقديراً لدوره في صناعة الطيران.

سمو الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد من مواليد الأول من ديسمبر 1958، وهو الأخ الأصغر للمغفور له الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم، نشأ وترعرع في بيت أخيه في الشندغة وكان مجلسه مدرسته الأولى في الحياة والاقتصاد والإدارة، ولقد بدأ سمو الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد تعليمه في مدرسة الأحمدية سنة 1963 ثم مدرسة الشعب فثانوية دبي ومنها إلى كلية السياسة والاقتصاد في جامعة دنفر بولاية كولورادو الأمريكية، حيث تخرج  فيها حاملاً ليسانس العلوم السياسية والاقتصاد.